Trek to Nepal – 10 weeks to go

Posted on February 20, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Another week has flown by and yet I’ve still managed to keep in some great workouts and build my fitness as well as get some targeted professional feedback to keep me focused and help me step it up to the next level.
By seeking guidance even part way on the preparation I am making sure that I am on the right path.

And also recognising that my path and other activities are also putting me in touch with people I have not come across before and who be able to assist me. Greatly.

When you plan to do something do you keep testing and tweaking your actions? Do you check in to confirm that your actions are achieveing their intended outcomes? Of course. Yet many times in business we see people who seem to set and forget their plans. Sure the actions get done and status is reported, yet it is not always the case that additional expertise is sought along the way.

Som may say this is a good way to get confused or overwhelmed – my view is that I would prefer to test how well my fitness plan is structured. Because if it is not structured well I will find out for sure in Nepal. And that is not the place I want to discover that I have made a mistake.

This week I was privileged to meet a couple of personal trainers who were willing to share their advice and tips with me. Their generosity was brilliant.

One was Andrew Jobling  www.andrewjobling.com.au and the other was Tanya Gendle of Strive Training  strive-training.com Both happily offered advice and listened to my goal and actions with interest.

Nepal treks need enduranceWhat did I get out of their conversations:

– strength and core training are important

– endurance and cardio training are essential

– lung capacity is critical

– it is best to be fully fit inside and out before I go as many people actually lose weight and condition on these treks.

– being aware of the degree and type of challenge before I go is a major factor in successful preparation

So what am I now doing differently? Not a lot as my plan had been to start increasing my endurance work this week and next. With 10 weeks to go – it will be single figure weeks soon – the time is right to tweak the fitness and preparedness.

I have also bought a book – Eat Right For Your Type – as the evidence seems to be growing about how blood type can influence what your body responds best to. Although I understand the guide it is also reality that I am not entirely a product of my blood type – for example, my blood type is supposed to have a better dairy tolerance than most yet I cannot take lots of dairy or full cream milk. And so once again I am happy to take the information as a guide and monitor how it affects me before resuming or altering a course that is best for me.

That is probably enough for the week. This next week will be a good test of my endurance and weather adaptability as I will be outside all day every day except one for the next week. And then the week after I will revise my focus to lots of core strength and hill/stair work.

I’m still excited about this trek. And still working on fundraising.


Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...